Within this week our key focus is to focus on designing & interpreting research. This will be so that I can gather and experiment with different primary research suitable for my project as well as any secondary research required for my project, and to be able to make it effectively and communicate to my target audience.

Image result for taking photos
5 Top Tips for Taking Gap Year Photos that Stand Out From the Crowd (YI Technology, No date)

My Project

My project is a short, one minute, experimental/indie horror film about an escapee from a mental asylum who is out to “get revenge” on someone from his past. The reason that I want to use the horror genre is because I’m very fascinated by the genre itself and the use of lighting and location towards horror films, as well as the style and costume that can go into it to make it seem quite horrific. I’m also quite interested in the “horror fantasy” style produced by Tim Burton as it creates more of a twisted feel and find the way that they’re produced are usually quite incredible and unique to his films, as well as the horror films produced by Rob Zombie and would say these are two of my top influencers on my short film.

The concept of my project is to try to create a one minute short film based upon horror. An influence towards this project was from recently watching a point and click adventure series on YouTube called “A Date with Markiplier” and the specific episode being called “Horror”. I also felt inspired by the Tim Burton styled films and their darker twists, as they’ve always been my favourite. These allowed me to suddenly reveal an idea in my head that could work with different lighting methods, different camera angles and also focus quite heavily on editing to be able to make this as best as it can be. I will be researching into costume, different lighting techniques, best camera movements and specific editing techniques that could help make this project effective. My target audience would generally cover the age ranges of 17-25 as this would be distributed on YouTube and that’s the most popular age range, however there will be a mix of a variety of different ages due to YouTube being for a lot of people nowadays. I will have a variety of roles within this short film, such as being a director, managing the camera, working on the sound and finally editing. I will also have a few friends who I’ve already spoken to and have them help out with any additional acting. I will be using the Nikon D5500 for filming, the RODE VideoMic Pro for on-set recording or Rode NT1 Microphone for audio that needs re-recording off-set, and finally different lighting methods (e.g. Softboxes, spotlights, LED lights).


What I already know

Colour

Currently I know that I will need to know quite a bit on colour, and luckily – I do! The main colours that I need to know about with horror are black and red. Black simply because it represents the darkness and fear towards the audience and the scene itself, and red because it produces the sense of death and danger. These will be two of the main colours that I will be using within my production as they will be important aspects of the horror genre, and the way they generally represent themselves how they are.

Chroma Key

As well as this, there’s a chance that I might have to use a green screen effect within my production, and luckily due to previous experience using green screens, I know what they need, how they work and how they can be used effectively. A major feature for them is lighting on the screen itself to try to make it as a similar colour as possible and make it easier to remove the colour through the Chroma Key effect. This can include the use of a blue screen as well, however most likely won’t be used as blue could possibly be used more than green with costume etc. At this current time I know how to Chroma Key in programs such as Sony Vegas, Adobe Premiere Pro & Adobe After Effects. To be able to complete using one within Avid I will conduct a test either using pre-created footage with green screens in or will record my own and experiment that way.

Image result for chroma key
Final Cut Pro X: Use chroma keys (Apple, No date)

Lighting

Lighting is a very important technique for my short film, and in particular there’s a certain bit about lighting that I need to know to be able to produce my short film. Luckily there’s already quite a bit I know about lighting from previous work that I’ve produced within the past year, however there is one thing that I will need to focus on and try out for myself. What I already know in particular is that horror lighting is quite minimal as it has more of a darker feel towards the scenes, this can be because of natural dark lighting or a minimal amount of artificial lighting. An example is for silhouettes you would have a bright and harsh light behind the character and no lights towards the front which would create a darkened shadow and the outline of a figure. You can also use three point lighting to effect to create a ring effect around the back of the figure, a hard key light on the focus and a minimal darker reflector to produce more shadows within the figure on the fill light etc.

As well as this, I know about how colour temperature works (e.g 10,000 Kelvin is blue like the sky and 1,000 Kelvin is a candlelight). This then leads into White Balance which is an important factor to do with any production to make sure the colours seem quite natural rather than completely incorrect and rather dull. The 6 different white balance features are Auto, Daylight, Shade, Cloudy, Tungsten and Fluorescent. Auto will try to naturalize all of the colours within the shot, daylight will add more of a darker tint as it will try and add more orange to make it more natural, shade will add a bit of a darker shade as it will expect it to be rather shady in the shots, cloudy will add the required balancing if it’s a cloudy day. Tungsten will add a lot more blue towards it as tungsten is more of a warm home light bulb colour and finally Fluorescent will try and add more blue towards the scene as well as it’s more of a darker colour.

Horror Mood through Lighting

Quite a strange title, however there are quite a few easy ways to produce more of a horror mood towards a scene. A main point is filming at night, or with your gain turned right down on the camera itself which will produce a much harsher light for shadows, for example Hollywood shoots in broad daylight so the crew can actually see what they’re doing. Usually horror as a genre will use more of a harsh light which is quite violent because it means you would produce more of a dark ambiguous shadow, usually this is produced using a blue ambient light to produce a warmer colour rather than an ambient room with lighting from windows as then natural lighting would intervene.

Photo of woman with green light illuminating her right side and red light illuminating her left side, labeled figure 5.
How to Light a Horror Scene (O’Rourke, T, 9 August 2014)

A good effect as well is to use two different primary colours whilst on a dark background. A good example is the image shown to the side which has blue to the left of the image and red to the right of the image. Horror will generally add blood red lighting, darker colours and the odd neon-colour to produce more of a “spooky” effect. Usually colours such as red and green/blue will go best with each other as it will create a sense of danger from the possibility of the police.

This is a nice effect to use as well as it will produce a sense of misdirection as something completely different could be happening in the background or could be revealed within the shot itself. The lighting becomes the main focus area, and in the background there could be someone walking towards the subject just the audience can’t see that until they look even closer as they were distracted.

Audio

Audio is an important feature as well towards my short film, this will be using the variety of different sound effects and music to produce a sense of fear towards the audience, and make the product effective in some way. As well as this I will focus on creating some of my own sound effects and have to over-dub any audio that requires over-dubbing. This will include the positioning of any microphones and the types of microphones that I will use (for example any verbal audio will be done through either a shotgun microphone or a cardioid microphone as they will mainly pick up the audio from the front and try and reject any from the back as that’s what their polar pickup patterns do.

Scripting

Scripting is quite an important aspect to any production as then you will have a physical copy of what will be happening at what time, and everyone involved in the production will be able to see it. I properly learnt about scripting back in 2015 whilst working on a Screenplay for a school project, and from there I’ve managed to fully fulfil how a script works and the best way to produce them that’s effective for everyone to see.

Narratives

There are 8 different types of Narratives, of course I’ll only be using one, however the options that I have are Linear Narratives (which occur in a specific order – beginning, middle, end). There’s also Non-Linear Narratives (more jumbled such as end, beginning, end, middle), Single-Stranded (stuck to only one story e.g. on the character only), Multi-Stranded (various different stories in one like Eastenders), Open Narrative (left open so the story can continue In another episode/film), Close Narrative (complete and over after the specific film/tv show) and Realistic/Non-Realistic Narrative (a story that could’ve occurred in the real world/there’s no way it could happen).

Framing & Composition

Framing and Composition is an important aspect to any production as well. This will be able to provide information on where specific actors are needed, where the props are needed, how everything will work within the frame etc. This will also include anything to do with any different angles and positioning of the camera (such as extreme close ups, medium long shot etc.). Composition will include anything to do with Leading Lines, Symmetry, Depth of Field, Natural Framing and more.


Areas to Develop

There are a few areas that I need to develop my knowledge as well as the ways to produce my short film effectively, some of these include:

Chroma Key in Avid: I’ve never tried to Chroma Key in Avid simply because there’s never been a reason for me to try and Chroma Key in Avid so I will need to look into how to Chroma Key within Avid.

Special Effects: As one of my inspirations for the short film was the video “Horror” by Markiplier, I want to try and look into how to do some special effects from that short film within Avid. One of the main effects is the blue and red 3D type effect. This can be produced however by adding two additional layers, changing the hue to the colour required, lowering the opacity and changing the sizing and position of each of the layers.

Costume: I will need to research into different horror costume designs and see what could be a possibility to be effective for my production. This will include producing a few designs for the costumes for my characters as well as physically looking around for different clothing that could be suitable, creating clothing suitable (such as a straitjacket) and other horror outfits.

Lighting: There’s a specific lighting method that I want to try out and see the suggested ISO levels for the camera etc. this will be to produce the light from a lit candle and see how much light can be produced to see if I can use this within my production.

Framing: I need to make sure whatever I frame within the short film that I produce, it looks natural and looks as perfect as it can be, to do this I can test taking still shots of someone’s face on one of the natural lines.

General Knowledge of the Horror Genre: To work on my knowledge of the horror genre, I will need to research it a bit more using the internet, as well as watching a variety of short horror films online and possibly a few other horror films.


Research for Methods & Activities

There are a few different ways that I will be researching into the areas that I need to develop, and some of these can either be quite tricky to do, or very easy dependent on the amount of time that goes into each. The main research methods for mine will include both primary and secondary research, most likely starting with secondary research to get a brief amount of knowledge on the subject, and then moving onto primary research by trying the create something myself instead.

Chroma Key & Special Effects

Chroma Keying in Avid is probably quite a simple tool to do, and to be able to get the information that I need to use, I can research on the internet for tutorials on how exactly to come across it.

Green Screen effect in Avid Media Composer (John Lynn, 2011)

Chroma Keying in Avid is actually a lot simpler than expected, and thanks to this video I’ve realized the rough way to do it and the ideas around it. It simply involves dragging your selected footage into the timeline (with the green screen background), going to the effects tab, selecting “Key” and then selecting “SpectraMatte” which will allow you to select the key colour you would like to remove. This can then allow you to change any of the Chroma Control settings to what would be best, e.g. the tolerance to make sure as much of the green as possible is gone. After this you can do any required cropping and resizing by selecting the “Promote” button. I will then try to do this myself within the week after getting the required footage from my green screen at home or using online footage.

Using stock footage from online of a Boeing plane and a shot of the sky, I’ve been able to use the method of Chroma Keying and producing something new within Avid and the process can be seen below.

Firstly starting with importing both of my footage into Avid Media Composer, with the green screen layer above the other, I need to go over to the effect panel, into the “key” section and select “SpectraMatte” and drag it onto the green screen clip.

Once you insert “SpectraMatte” into the clip, you then get shown the preview of it, by default it seems the colour to try and remove is blue – however we don’t want that, so heading into the effects panel at the bottom left of the screen, we are able to change the colour.

Once in the effects panel, there is a small box to the left of the screen, this allows me to click on it and manually find a colour or even select a colour to try and remove. For this in particular it will be green as we don’t want a green background for the plane, we want the sky!

Finally as we can see, the plane is fully Chroma Keyed out and now we have a plane up in the sky rather than on a green background. This is evidence that I now know how to Chroma Key within Avid effectively, and how it works.

Stock footage:
boeing 747 in green screen free stock footage (HDgreenstudio, 2014)
Great Aerial Sky Landscape Fly - 07 - Free Footage - 4K & 1080p (cinetrov, 2015)

Special Effects might be a bit more of a difficulty one to complete as Avid isn’t purely made for special effects – any special effects may have to be imported over from online footage, unless it is specifically possible. An idea of one of the effects that I might possibly use is to do with the Green Screen as well – I could green screen part of the footage, delay it ever so slightly on 3 separate tracks and then use a hue/colour correction tool to change the footage of the different layers and change the opacity of the two underneath to make the red and blue effect like in this video.

HORROR (Markiplier, 2017)

Costume

Image result for concept art horror character
M2M Looking for talented artists for upcoming survival horror RPG (Polycounter, January 2013)

For my production, a big part of it will be some of the costume that is used within it, and of course costume is a big factor of any production, as it would look quite unusual if someone in a banana outfit suddenly walked into a dark and gloomy room (random, but you know it wouldn’t work unless it was some Comedy Horror). For this I feel like researching for different videos and guides on costumes could be a good idea, or I could look at different artwork spread around the internet to see what I can find and see if I can gather any inspiration. After this I plan on trying to draw a few different designs myself and seeing which one could possibly be best and easiest to achieve for the two different characters in my production (and any other costume that is required for them throughout the short film).

Lighting

Lighting is a big factor towards any production, and in specific there’s one main one that I want to focus on and try and develop even further which also involves the camera. I want to see if a room is in complete darkness, how much light a simple hand-held candle can produce and what ISO levels are required to be able to produce the specific effect that I’m after (just the light on the face of the person holding the candle and a figure behind suddenly appearing (probably creeping up). To produce this it’ll be a lot of trial and error with the different methods of lighting, and another good way of understanding this a bit more is watching a few different clips on YouTube to see what methods some other people have used to create a similar effect. There are a variety of different lighting effects that can be used, however the specific that I’m after I can’t find, so I will have to try it myself rather than look for another source. If this effect isn’t possible to be produced, it might be easier to do it through the editing – this could be by adding a layer over the top with a vignette effect and masking out what needs to be masked out.

Framing

Framing my shot will entirely depend on once I’ve got my storyboard completed, however I can trial some different shots to do with Framing and Composition based upon my prior knowledge and what I need to work on in general, this can be to produce certain shots by using specific lighting techniques, or even by positioning a character in a certain spot (on one of the thirds). This will be effective as it means I can produce more knowledge towards my final project before actually getting round to it. As well as this I could also try some Leading Lines by visiting locations suitable (e.g a long pathway) or even symmetry to see how effective it really can be, and maybe it will work its way into my production.


Research Activities & Review

There are a variety of different research activities that I need to complete that could easily help me with my project and allow me to understand exactly what I’m doing for my project, or point me in the right direction for it. Shown below are the variety of different Research Activities that I’ve conducted.

Storyboard

The storyboard was an important Activity, as it would then produce a visual idea of what I want to try and create. Shown below is the storyboard with a better view of the description from each specific shot shown within it. Of course there will be more shots in between the variety of shots shown, however it still shows exactly what is needed and there to produce a rough visual guideline.

Shot 1: The scene starts with an Establishing shot of a run-down building, slowly zooming in to show the audience where the exact location is.

Shot 2: Wide shot of a person in a straitjacket sitting in the middle of the room. Person in middle is looking down – possible spotlight lighting. Wide empty room.

Shot 3: Close-up of person’s feet walking towards the person in the middle of the room. Tracking shot.

Shot 4: Back to the wide shot with person still walking towards subject. The subject’s head rises slowly (moving to a close-up shot). Shot finishes in darkness for about 2 seconds with a “THUD” sound effect.

Shot 5: Person is missing. Wide shot moving to a close-up of the persons face lying on the floor. Shot colour going between normal and red (to produce the idea of an alarm). Alarm fades into the next shot.

Shot 6: Alarm from previous shot switches to a phone alarm. Close-up on the phone alarm.

 Shot 7: Shot of person waking up in the right third of the shot. Medium close up or possibly a Birds Eye View.

Shot 8: Crash noise is heard downstairs, person quickly shoots up from laying down and goes down the stairs. Dialogue: “What was that!?” in a shocked tone.

Shot 9: Smashed plate on the floor. There’s a cat sat next to it (on a table top) so the instant thought is that the cat has pushed the plate over, creating a false sense of action to the audience. Dialogue: “Oh you stupid cat!” quite a laughable tone towards it.

Shot 10: Another noise is heard downstairs in the basement, which the person decides to go into and investigate. There are no lights in the basement so they have to bring a candle a lighter down instead.

Shot 11: Cautiously walking down the stairs, once they are down at the bottom of the stairs, the door suddenly slams, and the character is tense, looking around for a few seconds. Dialogue: “What’s going on!?” in a frightened tone.

Shot 12: The candle light is the only lighting method for the scene, and shows the light on the persons face, and a small part of light behind the persons face. The escapee lifts his arms up (which are still tied together from the straitjacket) and says “I’m back…” quickly he puts his arms down over the front of the person which also blow out the candle. This then jumps straight into the credits as soon as the darkness hits.

The storyboard that I’ve produced is most likely as final as it’s going to get, as it portrays a vision that I have in my mind into something that can physically be seen by a variety of other people. From here it will allow me to produce any other work related towards the production stage as well, such as the costume that will be used and the script that can be used for this as well.

Script

The script is one of the most important documents for the day(s) of production, this gives a physical worded copy to the actors and the crew so they know what is happening at what times, as well as for the actors to know when they need to speak, the tones and the direction they move in.

This is the script that I’ll be following, as it shows exactly what I want within it, however it could easily be altered on the day itself if I want to add/remove a specific element. Overall, it does directly correlate to what the storyboard shows, however will obviously be missing out the odd part in between each one. Finally once again, it could easily have something correlated into it during the production.

Costume

Costume is an important role to any productions, and in particular there will be a certain costume to stick by and how it could help in the long-run to produce a better and more horrified mood towards the short film.

Johnny

Johnny as a character I feel was inspired somewhat by Alice Cooper’s character within his concerts – similar to a “Steven” as he would possibly call it, and the outfit was mainly inspired by the outfit he uses in the song “Ballad of Dwight Fry” (as he wears a straitjacket and wants to escape).

Image result for alice cooper ballad of dwight fry
Search for Dwight Fry (The Lope, 30 October 2011)

I’ve made a bit more of a twist on the costume itself from what Alice Cooper does by trying to possibly add some contact lenses to add more of a fear factor in the eyes, however they are not 100% required, especially as they could be edited in through Avid and could rise the budget by a little bit more, however it’s still a possibility that they will be used.

This is the main costume idea for the character (the Escapist).

For the contact lenses, I’ve researched online to see if I can find that might work nicely (if I decide to use them), otherwise there are two shops in Canterbury which I’ve visited that sell them as well (being Third Eye and also Rebel).

Based upon what I have already in my house from Halloween 2015, I already have the strait jacket idea and costume ready for production as shown in the pictures below.

The front of the strait jacket (without the arms done up)
The back of the strait jacket (extra shirt required underneath for example a vest)
Front of strait jacket with the arms done up.

Janie

As Janie would only just be waking up in the first shot, there would most likely only be one costume for her, the possibility of two if she is shown as “changing” somehow within one of the shots (e.g. grabbing clothes). The costume would just be quite simple as it would be general clothing (whether it’s some form of pyjamas or a general day outfit).

piperxjules (12 May 2017)

Based upon what generally someone would wear, I’ve taken a picture from the actress who will be playing “Janie” from Instagram to show a rough idea of what she could be wearing once it comes round to the production, because it can simply be just general clothing.

Guard

The Guard’s costume is quite a simple one as it would just be a simple purchase of a guard costume from a company like Smyth’s, however in the more specific terms it would have to suit the role of a “Mental Asylum” guard which you’d be more likely to find over in America. This can work simply by using an outfit such as an American Cop Outfit and customizing it a bit (e.g not using the glasses or the hat). The costume itself can be found on Amazon as shown below. If it isn’t available at the time on Amazon, there is a costume shop close by in either Herne Bay or Canterbury where the costume can most likely be bought, or even something similar. For this costume in particular it will most likely be as shown in the one below, which will be the American Cop Costume.

American Cop Mens Fancy Dress NYPD Police Officer Uniform (Amazon UK, No date)

Production Budget

For my production, there will obviously be a budget, and because I’m a student, I’ve created a rough guideline of what the rough budget would be if this was a full-on production and a high-end production, however for obvious reasons I won’t be spending thousands on this production. This is shown in the screenshot below.

Within this I have included what it would roughly cost for what my production would be, and to show the overall cost of the production if it was a high-end production.

Starting with any Personnel, I’ve included Actors, Lighting, Cinematographers, Editor, Director, Sound Engineers and Set Designers – these would be one of the most highest priorities for the production, and of course it’s not everyone, however it’s a rough guideline of the production budget. In the second column I’ve calculated their price per day/week and the third is not applicable for this in particular. The fourth column is how long I would need each of the roles, and the final column is to show the overall price for each of those.

In the second section, I’ve included Equipment/Hiring Editing Suite. This is for anything that would be the best for a high-end production, and roughly how much it would cost. I’ve included a price for the Canon XA 30 Camcorder (which is a high-end camcorder) and despite not having one, it produces a rough guideline of how much it would cost if I were to buy it. Within this section I’ve included a tripod as well, and rather than hiring one it would probably be better to buy one, so I’ve added  that to the third column, which is the cost per unit for materials.

In the next section I’ve included any materials, this can range from props to specific equipment that could be needed as well such as an SD Card or Prop Hire. Again, this shows the rough price and can link in with how much it would roughly cost for each.

In the following column, I have included Food and Transport. This will be for the transport section of who will be at my production, and I’ve rounded the Train journeys based on the Mean Price, and roughly it will be £70 for an Off-Peak Return Ticket (return within 28 days) per person. I’ve also included a bus for any required travel that could be for around Kent, which is £22 a week and finally any food which would roughly be about £15 per person.

In the final section, I’ve included Copyright and Insurance. This will be important for any production as you need to make sure that you have the specific permission for any music or sound effects used, as well as Insurance to make sure it’s safe and insured. For any copyrighted material, it usually costs around £25 per song and for a sound effect the most I’ve found them at is about £2 per effect. Finally, Insurance for a week is roughly £100.

Overall, the total production budget cost for this production if it was high-end would roughly be £3,591.99 – obviously I don’t have that sort of money, and my budget is a lot lower, however if it was high-end, it would most likely cost around £3,591.99 (and we could say the maximum budget would be £4,000). This is also good practise for if I wanted to become some form of a producer in the future as it would help me gain knowledge of the rough prices for hiring/renting something out for a specific amount of time, and how to use the budget wisely.


Location(s)

There are only three main locations within my scene as some of it will most likely be Chroma Keyed or simply in a rather empty room. These will be the Screening Room (which will be the room with the green/black/white screens in them and the full lighting rig), the living room (for the main part of the scene towards the end) and also the kitchen (for the plate). As well as this of course there will be the bedroom and the staircase.

To get an idea of the locations, I’ve produced a location recce for the three main locations (Screening Room, Living Room & Kitchen) and will further produce one for the Bedroom and possibly the staircase in the future.

All Location Recce documents for the Screening Room

The first location is all about the Screening Studio Room. This will simply be some form of screen up (whether it is black, white or green) for the recording purposes. For this in particular, it will allow us to use any green screening to the best of our ability, as well as if we need complete darkness or simply a white background in the easiest way possible.

Full Location Recce document for the Kitchen.

The second location isn’t shown too much within the production, however it is there and still needs to be written about as it is one of the scenes that will be used. This will allow us to get the required shots that we’re after, and also allow us to fully understand any interference.

Full Location Recce for the Living Room.

Finally, the last location that I’ve completed a Location Recce for is the Living Room, it is one of the rooms that will be used within the production simply for the darkest part of the scene, as it is one of the rooms that you’re most likely to see in a house, and especially for a horror environment, it might be a lot easier to fit with it rather than a computer room.

The one difference for all of these is the date for filming. Due to the half term coming up and being the best time to film as more people are available, I’ve changed the recording date to Saturday the 3rd of June so that we can complete anything necessary within a better amount of time.


Health and Safety

Health and Safety is always an important part of the production, so to prepare for mine I’ve made a list of the health and safety hazards that could occur around my production as shown in the document below.

There are a few health and safety issues that could occur whilst I’m filming my production, so to try and prevent some of them I’ve written them down and the action/control that will need to take place.

Starting from the top, there could be a trip hazard from either cables of the screens whilst filming – to prevent any cast or crew being affected by this, any wires should be taped down and out of the way as much as possible, and any screens could be taped to the floor as well.

The staircase could be too dark if we’re filming at night, so to prevent any trip hazards, it might be worth filming in the day, or having a suitable lighting method so that the actor can still see where they are going to prevent them falling down the stairs.

As well as this, there is also a possibility as silly as it might sound of cats being in the way – they will need to be made aware of by everyone in the scene and kept out of the way by either being in a specific room in the house for a while, or even made aware that they’re not in there by someone keeping an eye on them.

There could also be a fire hazard – this is simply from either a candle or a lighter, however it could still occur that there could be a small fire. It’s highly unlikely, but we will need to make sure that the candle/lighter isn’t dropped. In an emergency, we will make sure water or a fire extinguisher is kept close by just in case.

There could be some dust within the locations, this could cause any allergies to flare up suddenly or for someone to suddenly start sneezing quite a bit in general, to prevent this it will be worth making sure the locations that are being filmed will be dusted completely.

Finally, I’ve made sure that the lighting is all correctly working. This will be whether a bulb suddenly explodes, the wires are in the way, it won’t blind anyone – I’ve made sure that precautions are kept so that none of these issues should occur, and if they do there should be a replacement in case.


Call Sheet

To get an idea of what a call sheet looks like, I’ve decided to try making my own (obviously not using real numbers or email addresses for privacy reasons as this is being shown on this blog) to produce an idea of what they look like and how exactly they work.

Within this section of my pre-production work, I have included all the required details that are for my production. Starting in this I’ve included all the required details, such as who to call and how to call them (and again, for security reasons I’ve changed the numbers and emails) and the location where we start production, and where we meet. For this I’ve included the two other actors helping out with the production (being Fraser & Piper) and as well as this I’ve included the details about “how to contact them” through phone and email (again, the numbers and emails are not real due to privacy).

I’ve also included a Preliminary Schedule which includes the rough guideline to the times that each activity will be occurring throughout the day and when each activity will be happening, as well as the overall wrap time. This will be so that we know a rough guideline to what will be required throughout the day, and how we will get it completed in the amount of time we have.

Finally, I’ve included the different means of travel to the location for each person. As I am the home-owner, I’ve calculated mine as a simple “Walk” method which would take 5 minutes, whereas Fraser lives over in Bath and Piper lives up in Nottingham so it’s a bit different for them. They were due to come down for the time already, so it’s best that I had them in my production. For Fraser it is a 7:43am train from Bath Spa towards London Paddington arriving at 9:14am. This then continues with a tube journey towards London St Pancras. The next train from here is the 10:22am service towards Ramsgate via Faversham. For Piper it’s the 8:03am train from Nottingham towards London St Pancras arriving at 9:56am and then the 10:22am train towards Ramsgate via Faversham. They both have an Off-Peak Return so it means they can return anywhere within 28 days of travel.

Once again with any travel plans, I’ve made a slight change due to the filming day being Saturday the 3rd of June – now they’re arriving on the Friday so that they are there and we can start filming right away on the Saturday. The new train times for them are as detailed below:

Bristol Temple Meads to Whitstable (Virgin Trains, No date)
Bristol Temple Meads to Whitstable (Virgin Trains, No date)

For Fraser it is ever so slightly different – he works over in Bristol and has half a day at work, getting the 13:00 train from Bristol Temple Meads instead of from Bath Spa arriving into London Paddington at 14:38. This then continues with a tube journey from London Paddington towards London St Pancras and catching the 15:25 service from London St Pancras towards Whitstable arriving at 16:38. Once again this is an Off-Peak ticket which allows him to return anywhere within 28 days to Bristol Temple Meads.

Nottingham to Whitstable (Virgin Trains, No date)
Nottingham to Whitstable (Virgin Trains, No date)

For Piper, there’s not too much different except for the time – this will be leaving Nottingham at 13:05 and arriving at London St Pancras at 14:55. This then continues to a wait for the 15:25 train from London St Pancras towards Whitstable arriving at 16:38. This is also an Off-Peak Return allowing her to return within 28 days to Nottingham.


Production Schedule Chart

I’ve also produced a Production Schedule Chart to have a rough guideline of when each role will be required and how it will roughly work. I’ve colour coded it to make it a bit easier to see, and this will create a rough schedule for when each role will be required.

Starting at the top I’ve got “Research/Proposal”. This is any required research towards my project to be completed and proposed – for myself I’ve got it set to Monday, Tuesday & Wednesday of the week of the 15th and the 22nd. This gives me plenty of time to prepare and get the required material for my project.

The second one you can see is “Location Recce”. This was for the date that I produced my Location Recce(s) for my project, so that I can know exactly what I need for my production,

Next up is Storyboard which is the days that I produced my storyboarding (not too much to say about this one!). Moving on we can see a big block to the right of the columns, and this is for my production itself and includes the cameraman, sound recordist, editors, props and production equipment, shooting, director, producer and the final edit. This big block here is to show when I will be doing the specifics for this part.


Shooting Script

I have also produced a Shooting Script. This is so that each Location has each shot number within it, and can be produced at the specific time and place within the scene – as well as this it is so that they can all be shot at the same time even if they are quite far apart.

The shooting script shows the 4 different locations that will be used within my production, and reflects from the Storyboard earlier in this post.


Releases

To be able to use any people within a production, you must have them sign a release for them to say “Yes, I will allow you to use my appearance in your production”.

As shown above I have had both Fraser & Piper complete the release to say I can use them in my production and it is signed through the computer. This will allow me to use them within my production without any issues for the future and have a physical piece of evidence to show it.


Full Documents

These three files listed here are the two full documents that were required. One being the pre-production pack, the Project Proposal and the other being the presentation.

Pre-Production Paperwork Pack

Project Proposal Document

The Escapist Powerpoint.

In case Powerpoint isn’t accessible, shown below are each of the slides for my presentation:

The text that seems quite cursive was a lot nicer and had more of a horror theme to it (the font being Double Bounce) however it isn’t available on the college computers as it’s a custom font from dafont.com which is why it might seem a bit out of place.


Overall these were the variety of different ways that I planned most of my research towards my project and conducted the variety of different methods to try out what I needed for my project. Now I feel I am fully prepared to create my project and produce it as I feel I have gathered all of the research that is required for it to happen.


Sources

Amazon UK (No date), American Cop Mens Fancy Dress NYPD Police Officer Uniform. Available at: https://www.amazon.co.uk/American-Police-Officer-Uniform-Costume/dp/B01M0CGDM9/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1495394408&sr=8-5&keywords=police%2Bcostume&th=1 (Accessed: 11 May 2017)

Apple (No date), Final Cut Pro X: Use chroma keys. Available at: https://support.apple.com/kb/ph12665?locale=en_GB (Accessed: 22 May 2017)

cinetrov (2015), Great Aerial Sky Landscape Fly – 07 – Free Footage – 4K & 1080p. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wcsr5diHxo0 (Accessed: 22 May 2017)

HDgreenstudio (2014), boeing 747 in green screen free stock footage. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GyyQoaBJ11w (Accessed: 22 May 2017)

John Lynn (2011), Green Screen effect in Avid Media Composer. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6-Ndjge1XCw (Accessed: 8 May 2017)

The Lope, (30 October 2011), Search for Dwight Fry. Available at: http://www.blog.thelope.com/2011/10/search-for-dwight-frye-kansan.html (Accessed: 9 May 2017)

Markiplier (2017), HORROR. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q8eg2DypRC8 (Accessed: 8 May 2017)

O’Rourke, T. (1 October 2012), How to Light a Horror Scene. Available at: https://www.videomaker.com/article/c13/15436-horror-film-lighting-on-a-budget (Accessed: 8 May 2017)

piperxjules (12 May 2017), No title. Available at: https://www.instagram.com/p/BUACzYLj5gE/?taken-by=piperxjules (Accessed: 13 May 2017)

Polycounter (January 2013), M2M Looking for talented artists for upcoming survival horror RPG. Available at: http://polycount.com/discussion/116253/m2m-looking-for-talented-artists-for-upcoming-survival-horror-rpg (Accessed: 8 May 2017)

Virgin Trains (No date), Bristol Temple Meads to Whitstable. Available at: http://virgintrainseastcoast.com. (Accessed: 22 May 2017)

Virgin Trains (No date), Nottingham to Whitstable. Available at: http://virgintrainseastcoast.com. (Accessed: 22 May 2017)

YI Technology (No date), 5 Top Tips for Taking Gap Year Photos that Stand Out From the Crowd. Available at: https://www.gapyear.com/articles/271596/5-top-tips-gap-year-photos (Accessed: 8 May 2017)

