This post is dedicated towards reflective writing and formative feedback.

Reflective Writing

Within this week we covered Visual Motion (screen direction). I feel this was probably one of my favourite tasks that we’ve done so far due to the practical side of it using a variety of different skills, and it’s actually proving to have more of a viewer aspect towards the content that has been created through the use of the different social media platforms (mainly Twitter, not so much from Instagram).  I feel the examples that we were given of “composing movement” (Akira Kurosawa) was a good exercise as it allowed us to use what we already knew about the film industry and screen motion, and allowed us to learn even more just by watching a short video about how effective movement is, and how much it simply affects the mood of a video, even if it’s just simply background movement! The analysis helped as well as we were able to see a clear example of screen direction, showing us how it works and how we can use it to our advantage and sometimes even just about break that 180 degree rule by having the character moving on the nature line and changing direction. The various different camera movements that we learnt about – I already knew the majority of them from doing previous film work in my old school before coming onto the course and had a prior knowledge of how each of them worked, as well as creating short films in the past. I really enjoyed this week, especially as the video that I created was seen by Nescafé themselves (as shown in the tweet below in the Feedback section) and it allowed me to know what I need to improve on, and show how far I’ve come since Week 1 of this entire course!

Feedback

This week as well as showing people that I know some of the things that have been created, I’ve created a Twitter & Instagram account which could be used to try and get some feedback from people around the globe, and maybe even have some other people look at it for future opportunities.

 

 

