Within this session, we have been talking about “Working Practices”, in particular we’ve been talking about the various different types of working with their pros and cons.

Image result for working practises in media
Best Practice (Ward, A, 29 February 2016)

The Different Types of Working Practices

There are three main types of Working Practices that you can have:

Freelancer

A freelancer is the most common form of employment, you are mainly self employed, and you pay your own taxes as well as for your National Insurance. You also tend to work for and within other companies, however it’s not permanent – you would be working on specific jobs for most likely a set amount of time.

Pros:

  • It’s Flexible
  • You have a variety of things to do whilst being a freelancer, for example one week you could be doing one thing, and then a few weeks later you could be doing something completely different
  • Builds up a reputation for yourself
  • Develop your skills
  • You build up your communications (Networking)
  • No joining of the company itself is required.

Cons:

  • It’s Stressful – there’s an inconsistent employment, sometimes you could be months without working.
  • You might have to turn down a good job due to being on one job.
  • It’s difficult to get through and break into.

Self Employed

Whilst you’re self employed, you own your own business. You also pay your own taxes, and the main thing that’s good is you are creating the product itself, you find the client for your products and it’s what you would want to do.

Pros:

  • You work within the industry you love
  • You create the possibility of breaking through a lot easier
  • It’s fairly easy to start! You just need a website, business cards, business phone etc.
  • You work on the products you choose to work on.

Cons:

  • Finance
  • You receive an irregular income, and you need the money to physically start. This could be that you take a loan and hope that it would work, however you’d still have to live and work on paying back more than you originally loaned.

Employed

Whilst you are Employed, you are physically employed by a company itself and you could be working on in-house projects, for example if you with ITV, you could be working on The X-Factor, Britain’s Got Talent etc.

Pro:

  • Security – they will be in charge of looking after you in a way, they pay your taxes, you get your holiday pay etc.

Con:

  • Lack of variety – you’re constantly going to be doing the same thing non stop until you quit.

This could also lead onto Short-term contracts or Project contracts which are for projects such as The X-Factor or Britain’s Got Talent, however, once they’re done – they’re done and you’re unemployed again.


Our Task

Our task was to creative a Career Timeline with as much detail, links and pictures to my ideal timeline which doesn’t have to be 100% accurate, but to have some fun with it and see what we would like to do within the upcoming years until we’re 30 years old.

Current Age (17) to 19 years old

Personally, I would love to stay in Canterbury College at this time and continue my work with doing Film & TV Production, Level 3 until I’ve maximized as many of my skills as possible within the subject. I really enjoy the course itself, and feel that it would be a great improvement to me as a person and it’s something I’m really enjoying and would like to keep doing.

I feel like getting a part-time job for the days that I’m not in college would be fairly useful to gather resources and money to be able to make side-projects for whilst I’m not in college at the same time, and gather some money so I can travel around parts of the world to possibly get noticed and film various different parts of the world, as let’s say “an adventure of my early life” so I could see as much as possible before some of it is simply… gone.

After College

After my time in Canterbury College is completed, I would love the idea of travelling across the world to visit as many places as possible and film my journey as I go through the places such as visit America and possibly hire/buy a car for a couple of months and try and explore as many places as possible. There’s someone that I know that has done this and filmed his journey, and I like the idea of being able to edit on the go, and whatever I capture into memories and clips to show where I’ve gone, and the progress of my life and how I became who I am today. Of course, I’d need the money to do so, so to start with I’d probably have some form of a job until I have enough to do what I’d want to do and have enough to survive out there and do everything that I intend to do.

Why Don't You Just Leave... (veeoneeye, 2014)

I don’t intend on going to University as it’s not something I’ve ever been too interested in going to, however, if I were to choose a university, it would be to do Film Studies within the Brighton University as I’d like to idea of living in Brighton rather than in a place in Kent as I’ve explored the majority of Kent and the United Kingdom, and Brighton really sticks out to me. You can find the course itself here: https://www.brighton.ac.uk/courses/study/film-and-screen-studies-ba-hons.aspx. I feel that moving out to Brighton would be a great progression to my life as it would allow me to be able to find myself a lot more and be able to continue what I love doing.

Related image
Falmer Campus (University of Brighton, No date)

As I love to travel, I feel that travelling around many different places across the world could possible end up with some of my work that I produce being found, and as I know various different bands such as Alice Cooper, The Dead Daisies, some of Motley Crue etc. I might even get the chance to work on various different Music Videos if I could supply some work towards them as well which would be a fantastic opportunity and allow me to put my creativity into work for some of the artists that I love.


Sources

University of Brighton (No date), Falmer Campus. Available at: http://arts.brighton.ac.uk/arts/campuses-in-brighton/falmer-campus (Accessed: 20 November 2016)
University of Brighton (No date), Film and Screen Studies. Available at: https://www.brighton.ac.uk/courses/study/film-and-screen-studies-ba-hons.aspx (Accessed: 16 November 2016)
veeoneeye (2014), Why Don’t You Just Leave…. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gb3PJ5n-vMI (Accessed: 17 November 2016)
Ward, A (29 February 2016), Best Practices. Available at: https://authoritylabs.com/blog/social-media-best-practices-part-1-twitter-facebook-instagram-linkedin/ (Accessed: 20 November 2016)
