This post is dedicated towards Reflective Writing and Peer Feedback on Week 5 (Introduction to Editing and Production Research Plan).

Within this week we’ve been focussing on two things:

  1. Introduction to Editing within Avid Media Composer
  2. Production Research Plan

Starting with the Introduction to Editing topic, I found this fairly enjoyable as I was able to start learning a partially complex program (Avid) which I’ve only used once or twice in the past and was able to test out some specific features to do with the program and gain more knowledge towards it. It allowed me to understand some of the default shortcut keys within the program to make my life a lot easier, as well as allowed me to understand some of the general editing techniques within Avid. In all honesty I found the program quite easy to understand and how it could work as I’ve used similar programs in the past (such as Sony Vegas and moved onto Premiere Pro). The program itself is quite easy in my opinion to understand as it has some similarities, and allowed me to express some things that I already knew about the program itself within the edit that we created from the video and audio clips that were supplied to us. The one main thing that I found difficult within Avid itself would be that firstly I missed a session and had to catch up as much as possible (which I was able to do fairly easily) but it meant that I had to try and catch up and get the edit done as fast as possible, and to overcome any difficulties I had, I was able to search online for various tutorials to try and find out how to do specific effects for example.

Moving onto the Production Research Plan, I found this topic fairly difficult, but at the same time found it quite easy to understand. Within the session we watched Life on Mars as an example and were able to reverse engineer parts of the first few minutes to try and get an idea on what we had to do ourselves, and then when it came to doing it ourselves it was a mix of difficulty and easiness (probably confusing, but I’ll explain why). The main difficult part to this would be searching for the right clip to use. Originally I wanted to use something from Fawlty Towers, however ended up going with Doctor Who due to the fact Doctor Who uses a lot more of a variety of locations etc. whereas Fawlty Towers is mainly in one location and could be used for anything to do with Audio/speech/stunts for future references, rather than using it within this post where it would be harder to write about and wouldn’t have as much to use. Finally once I found the right clip to use from Doctor Who, it allowed me to reverse engineer in an effective way and allowed me to find out how much actually goes into the production for the certain part of a scene – literally 3 minutes has so much information that needs to be exported into a production!

Overall, I found the editing side a lot more enjoyable due to the fact that in the future I would love to become some form of an editor, and it allowed me to try and portray some editing skills within the clips we made, and allowed me to learn a little bit more to do with a new piece of software.


Week 6

As well as this, within Week 6 we also focussed on more in-depth with lighting and syncing sound by using the clapperboard.

The first exercise that we did within this week was the Clapperboard exercise. This was to allow us to learn more about the actual clapperboard itself, why it’s used and how you’re meant to use it effectively. To start off with in the week, we could understand how to use it, however, we could never seem to get it right. This was mainly due to the fact of the camera being out of shot, either saying the wrong thing or having something completely written incorrectly on the clapperboard itself. This proved to be a downside for us as we could not find the exact places to try and sync the audio when it came to using Avid to try and sync, and it resulted in us trying to record it all again on another day where we were in fact successful! I feel the exercise itself was very helpful towards our group as it allowed us to see how much work needs to go into actually using the clapperboard, and how it is vital to sync the video and audio, and to make it easier on the editors themselves.

The next exercise that we did within this week was a lighting task. This was to fulfil more of our knowledge towards the Key lighting, Fill lighting and Back lighting so that we can understand it more by physically doing the task. I feel this was one of the most enjoyable parts to the week itself, as it allowed me to understand more about how lighting can work effectively with various different types of lighting, and it allowed me to physically work on the lighting itself trying out something new each time, whether that was working on the camera, with the key light, the back light or even the fill light, I was able to try out all of the different methods and see how effective lighting was for myself.


Peer Feedback

Week 5 & 6: All of your blog posts are really detailed. On the production research, you have detailed everything correctly. With each of your websites that you have chosen, you clearly tell us why you have chosen this website without writing too much. You referenced correctly every images and on the reference list as well. Your blog post is nicely presented in a way that it is clearer for me or others to read. I think what you should do next time is to write not too much but not too little as well so that it is not too long, because what you have written is good, but there are a bit too many words, so reducing it a bit more would be good. Your avid post is well written, and illustrated as well, people who read this would would understand what to do as you have shown the pictures as well as writing about it. Overall, you did a good job on these blogs, the only thing to do is to write a little bit less, because if we write too much there could be a moment where what you write isnt what they are asking for. This is the only advice i can give, otherwise, I think they are really good – Marwan

